Send mail to:    mgnet@cs.yale.edu             for the digests or bakeoff
                  mgnet-requests@cs.yale.edu    for comments or help
 Current editor:  Craig Douglas                 douglas-craig@cs.yale.edu

 *-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

                              Multigrid Bakeoff


The pupose of the bakeoff is to try to determine a collection of interesting
problems and shed light on how to solve them better.  While multigrid methods
are emphasized, any algorithm that solves one of these problems is fair game.

The codes participating will probably not be able to solve all of the
problems.  However, all problems shoud be solvable by more than one code.
Otherwise, the problem is too specialized, hard, or uniteresting after all.

Some of the codes are research codes and others are production quality ones.
A distinction will be made between these classes.

 *-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

                       Mail and the Software Repository


All mail should be sent through mgnet@cs.yale.edu.  It will be sent out quite
quickly to the active bakeoff participants and digested for others.

There is an anonymous ftp repository for mgnet at casper.cs.yale.edu.  Change
directory to mgnet and get the files README.mgnet and INDEX.mgnet to see what
is really there.

 *-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

                                   Problems


Details will be forthcoming.  Actually, problems will be forthcoming.

So far, the only 2 problems advertised are the Poisson equation on the unit
square and cube, Dirichlet boundary conditions, and solutions
    u(x,y)=x*exp(xy)*sin(pi*x)*sin(pi*y)
and
    u(x,y,z)=x*exp(xyz)*sin(pi*x)*sin(pi*y)*sin(pi*z).
Discretization of these by central differences, elements, and volumes on
uniform grids could get interesting.  For uniform grids, the number of
unknowns should be large (say about 256 squared for the 2D problem and about
32 or 64 cubed for the 3D problem).  For nonuniform grids or alternative
methods, an error reduction will be provided (soon, ... really).

Such trivial problems are not really wanted, but something almost everyone can
solve and are well known in the literature should be included just as a point
of reference.

 *-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

                               Timing of Codes


Timing routines will be supplied.  Everyone should use the same one on a given
architecture so that we are comparing apples with apples instead of apples
with oranges.

I already have ones for a large number of machines.  However, it would not
hurt to send me a copy of yours for your favorite machine.  When in doubt,
send me a message (douglas-craig@cs.yale.edu).

 *-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

                        Bakeoff Software Participants


Software packages listed below are participating.  The sponsor is also listed.
Packages with a * to the left of the package name are stored in the mgnet
anonymous ftp area on casper.cs.yale.edu.

  * MADPACK                     Sponsor: Craig Douglas
      (version 2)               E-mail:  douglas-craig@cs.yale.edu or
                                         bells@watson.ibm.com
                                Status:  Public domain, research code
                                Updated: April 27, 1991

 *-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

                Bakeoff Human Participants (Active and Passive)


Anyone with a * to the left of their name is active.  This will be added as
people demonstrate they are active.  The distinction below by region is solely
to keep the mailing list I have at Yale easier to manage and not for any other
purpose.

                                North America

  Dinshaw Balasa          dbalsara@ncsa.uiuc.edu
  Victor Bandy            vbandy@copper.denver.colorado.edu
  Maurice Benson          mwbenson@thunder.lakeheadu.ca
* Craig Douglas           bells@watson.ibm.com
* Paul Frederickson       pof@riacs.edu
  Charles Tong            chtong@snll-arpagw.llnl.gov
  Sue Haupt               haupt@ncar.ucar.edu
  Mike Heroux             mamh@cray.com
  Jan Mandel              jmandel@copper.denver.colorado.edu
  Oliver McBryan          mcbryan@boulder.colorado.edu
  Steve McCormick         smccormi@copper.denver.colorado.edu
  Steven McKay            mckay@dt.uh.edu
  Naomi Naik              nanaik@vassar.bitnet
  Steve Schaffer          schaffer@nmt.edu
  Ridgway Scott           scott@uh.edu
  Ray Tuminaro            tuminaro@cs.sandia.gov
  John Van Rosendale      john@icase.edu
  Shangyou Zhang          szhang@math.udel.edu


                                    Europe

  John Carrol             carrollj%vax2.nihed.ie@uunet.uu.net
  Ute Gaertel             gmap15@dbngmd21.bitnet
  Mathias Meinke          kumein@dacth11.bitnet
  Klaus Stuben            gmap02@dbngmd21.bitnet
  Rune Teigland           resrt@mi.uib.no
  Chris Thompson          thompson@bsc.no
  Eric van der Maarel     maarel@cwi.nl
  Paul de Zeeuw           pauldz@cwi.nl
  Denis Willams           williamsd@dcu.ie


                                  Middle East

  Achi Brandt             mabrandt@weizmann.bitnet

 *-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*